Wingham Golf Club report December 6, 2017

On Tuesday, November 28 the ladies played their last 18 hole event for the year. The event was a stableford for the Captain versus President trophies. The winner of captain Denise trophy was Jan Ditton 43pts, and for the President Janice the winner was Wendy Jones with 40pts. Winner of Division 1 was Katrina Greenaway 39, Division 2 Dot Clarke 38, Division 3 Volda Humphries 41. The nearest the pin winners on the 3rd J. Surtees, B. Bisby, S. Juozaitis and on the 7th D. Polley, B. Bisby, V. Humphries. Ball winners B. Bisby, J. Hampyon, N.Nelson, J.Richardson, S. Jiozaitis, D. Polley, J. Surtees, P. Whiteley, T. Eacott.

On Wednesday, November 29 the veterans played their last monthly medal for the year. The medal was won by Syd Gilfillan with the best gross score. The winners were Frank Lawrence 58 nett, followed by Richard Lucas 66, and Stephen Seymour 67. The putting was won by F. Lawrence NTP winners were on the 3rd/12th Ron Wilson, 7th/16th Graham Troth, 9th/18th Ken Malpass.

Also on Wednesday, November 29 the ambrose resulted in wins for the Below Par team (Leslie steel). Next was NRMA (Bob Polley), third Family Ties, and fourth Stones Plumbing. There was just over half a shot separating those four teams. The port was won by Steven Campbell and the NTP on the third went to Graham Steel.

The Thursday, November 3 LJ Hooker chook run was won by Rex White 22c/b, Bill Cooper 22c/b, Ken Squires 22c/b, Barry Brown 22c/b, Graham Steel 22, John Thorburn 21c/b. NTP winners on the third Graham Steel and on the seventh Barry Brown. The LJ Hooker umbrella was won by Barry Brown.

On Friday, December 1 the ladies played a stableford event and he winner was Cheryl Andrews, r/up Pat Marcus, ball winners R. Woodward, S. McKenna.

On Saturday, December 2, 62 players played in the December Taree Toyoto Monthly Mug. The winner was Pete Hinton 69 nett. He also wins the monthly medal for A Grade. A Grade nett winner Barry Brown 68, B Grade nett and medal Earle Braham 69, C Grade nett and medal Cory Moore 69. Scratch winners A Grade Rod Brown 75, B Grade Franz Schubert 85, Garry Stackman 89.

Katrina Greenaway was the ladies winner and the long drives were won by A Pete Hinton, B Daryl Heywood, and C Phil Hanlen. The NTP winners on the 1st/10 the Wingham Plaza Butchers Rod Brown, 3rd/12th Wingham Gourmet meats Pete Hinton, 4th/13th Chantelle Steer, 7th/16th Bayview Seafood James Urquhart, 9th/18th Bent on Food Mone Vilayrack. Balls went to 74 nett.

Events coming up:

  • Saturday, December 9: stableford for the Wingham Beef Exports Trophy.
  • Saturday, December 16: 4BBB.
  • Sunday, December 17: the hit off for the Bakewell top 10 will be held.

Good Golfing from Birdie