Wingham Golf Club news March 11, 2017

With the course looking a treat there is plenty of golf on in the coming weeks.

On March 18 the Wingham Cellars Trophy will be played for. The event will be a stableford, and the second round of the matchplay is to be completed.

On the March 25 there will be a stableford for the Wingham Coles Trophy, with the championships coming up in May.

On Wednesday March 8 there were 44 players in the Veterans stableford competition. The winner was Phil Anderson 39pts, next was Rex Burrell 37, and Terry Hall 36.

The course must have been playing hard as no one hit the 3rd/12th to win the NTP and on the 7th/16th Trevor Jones was lucky to take home the prize.

The Wednesday ambrose was won by Family Ties (Brian Hanney) Beattie’s (Adam Beattie) team took out 2nd place with Bobcat (Steve Welsh) filling 3rd postition. The NTP winner was Matt Primmer.

On Thursday March 9, 20 players hit off in the chook run. The winner was Alex Kees 22pts. Dave Andrews finished next with 18pts, and Nev Blanch finished 3rd on 17 on a count back. IIt must have been Nev’ s day with him taking out both nearest the pins.

Friday March 10 the ladies played a sableford and the winner was Janice Surtees with 18pts, followed by Sue McKenna with 16pts. Balls went to Volda Humphries, Debbie Stewart, and Marg Early. Noelene Nelson must have had her eyes on winning the NTP.

On Saturday March 11 the Ancient Ruins, a group of players who usually play on Thursday, sponsored the event. There were 57 players in an Irish (Scottish) fourball. The winners were Tony Lattimore, Geoff Swaffield, Brian Roberts, Dave Elliott with 90pts. Next was Rod Desborough, Paul Muir, Brad Sawyer Alex Kees, and 3rd Craig Harrison, Rod Pearson, Barry Brown, Rex White 89. Individual results Corey Moore 42, Nev Blanch 40, Steve Abbott 39.

The NTP winners were on the 1st/10th Wingham Plaza Butchers Pete Hinton, 3rd/10th Wingham Remedial Massage Nev Blanch, 4th/13th Phantom Sponsor Dave Elliott, 7th/16th bayview Seafoods. Steve Race and Tom Hadwell won the 9th/18th Bent on Food voucher. Balls went to Denis McKeough, Bob Yarnold, Gary Croucher, Alex Wilson, Syd Gilfillan, John Hynes, Earle Braham Nev Blanch.

Individual score winners Adam Beattie who had another great round of 75 of the stick to go with the 73 he had last week, and Franz Schubert.