Wingham Senior Cricket Club presentation

2013 - 2014 Award Winners

THE Wingham Senior Cricket Club 2013-2014 Season Presentation was held at the Australian Hotel on Saturday May 17. Overall the presentation was an outstanding success being well attended by players and their families, with the proceedings professionally run by club president Michael Stinson. Held on the outdoor deck of the Australian Hotel, the weather was perfect, lunch was beautiful and everyone seemed to have a wonderful time. It was a very social occasion with lots of humour and laughs, as wells as the serious business of recognising the achievements of players throughout the year.

Special guest presenters included: Neville Bell, life member of the club who presented the Player's Player Award to Steve Allwood, Bruce Bird and Brock Hynes; Wayne Smoothy, life member of the club, presented the Outstanding Achievement Award to Matthew Essery; Wes Zuber, proprietor of the Australian Hotel, presented the First Grade Player of the Year Award to Brad Staff; Peter Bell presented the Audrey Bell Memorial Award to Brad Staff; Craig Martin presented the Junior Cricketer Award to Mitchell Niven and Catherine and Jonathon Craig-Dobson presented the Michael Dobson Young Cricketer Memorial Award to Jesse Newman.

The following cricketing awards were presented:

Player of the Year:

First grade: Brad Staff (74.8 points); second grade: Matthew Essery (71 points); third grade: Faron Saxby (73.5 points).

Player's player:

First grade: Brock Hynes; second grade: Steve Allwood; third grade: Bruce Bird

Batting aggregate

First grade: Brock Hynes (442 runs); second grade: Matthew Essery (590 runs); third grade Faron Saxby (405 runs)

Batting average

First grade: Michael Stinson (34.30); second grade: Matthew Essery (84.29); third grade: Jesse Newman (37)

Bowling aggregate

First grade: Brad Staff (37 wkts); second grade: Steve Allwood (31 wkts); third grade: Faron Saxby (26 wkts)

Bowling average

First grade: Brad Staff (9.72); second grade: Scott Blanch (12.72); third grade: Faron Saxby (9.12)

The following Special Awards went to:

Junior Cricketer - Mitchell Niven; Michael Dobson-Young Cricketer Award - Jesse Newman; Century Award- Andrew Cross, Bruce Bird, Matthew Essery;

Outstanding Achievement- Matthew Essery 3 consecutive Centuries, 708 runs, 13 wickets, 6 catches; The President's Award-2nd Grade Team for winning the Triple Crown of t/20, 1 & 2 Day Premiers; 3rd Grade Super Sub Award- Hudson Bird, Clancy Johnson, Blake Thompson

The following Novelty Awards went to:

Most Ducks - Shane Manny

Most Dropped Catches- Daniel Barber

Shortly after the Award Ceremony, young cricketer Mitchell Niven had his beautiful head of hair shaved off by Rachel Baker. Initially this was in response to a 'bet' by some of the second grade cricketers declaring that if the team won the 'Triple Crown' of the T/20, One Day Final and Two Day Final, Mitchell was to shave his hair off. Well second grade had an outstanding season and won all three competitions. Mitchell decided to put the 'bet' to a good cause and raised $500 for the McGrath Foundation.

The Wingham Senior Cricket Club would like to thank all players and their families for a great season of cricket and would also like to acknowledge their sponsors The Australian Hotel, Manning Freight Distribution, Wingham Beef and the support of the Wingham Chronicle and Manning River Times.