Zone 8 RSL bowls

ONE hundred and two bowlers attended the annual Bill Taylor Anniversary Triples at Forster Bowling Club.

In the absence of president Albie Dean, Trevor Turner was in charge of proceedings and handed the club over to Zone 8 president Charles Fisher, the Ode was spoken, all bowlers then headed to the greens for a morning of bowls. The usual chatter and laughter was heard from all three greens as bowlers enjoyed their refreshments.

At the end of bowls all players headed to the clubhouse for more refreshments then it was time to adjourn to Danny's Chinese Restaurant for a much deserved luncheon. From the restaurant area all bowlers, lady committee members and supporters attended the showroom for the raffle draw and presentation to the various winners.

The winners on the day were, and there were some very happy Forster bowlers... B Sevenoaks, P Mackin, D Mahoney / J Hemmingway, G Hancock, R Bateson / H Burnett, B Hodgson, R Willman, all grabbing the goodies. The winners of the Bill Taylor Trophy were S Ryan, J Pollock and A White from North Haven BC, congratulations to all winners, the raffle was then drawn and 25 meat trays were up for grabs they were spread all around our Zone.

To Forster BC thank you for your club, to the green staff for the great greens, catering at Danny's, the bar staff for their splendid effort and to the Zone 8 Ladies who without them we would not exist.

Coming events:

April 14: annual Army vs Navy vs Air Force day at Tuncurry Beach Bowling Club.

April 23: RSL Fours and Social Championships, entries close May 7.

RSL Fours and Social Championships Commence May 5

Bill Ross Social Bowls - North Haven BC May 12

Bi Monthly meeting -Taree Rail BC

'Till next on the greens

Richard Bailie-Mace

Zone 8 RSL Bowls publicity