Dance results from 2017 Taree and District Eisteddfod

Alice Heaslip (Taree) competes in the 16 years and under District Jazz Solo, which she went on to win.

Alice Heaslip (Taree) competes in the 16 years and under District Jazz Solo, which she went on to win.

Over 17 days, thousands of dancers from across the region performed on the Manning Entertainment Centre stage as part of the 50th Taree and District Eisteddfod.

Dance is the biggest section of the eisteddfod and received record entries this year.

The group weekend featured 2800 “pairs of feet” and ran over two and a half days, from May 5 to 7.

“Group dance weekend was just beautiful. It was a very high standard,” said section co-coordinator and eisteddfod secretary Margaret Rogers. “It’s the best dancing I think I’ve ever seen.”

The Danae Cantwell School of Dance from Kempsey won the $1000 Clare Squires Memorial Home is Where the Heart Is award. Clare was a co-coordinator of the dance section and co-ordinated the grand concerts. 

“It’s for dance schools to do something in their studios. The teacher was so thrilled,” she said.

All photos from the dance section at Taree and District Eisteddfod are by Scott Calvin and Carl Muxlow.

Click through to each day’s results

Monday May 1

Tuesday May 2

Wednesday May 3

Thursday May 4

Friday May 5

Group Weekend Friday May 5

Group Weekend Saturday May 6 

Group Weekend Sunday May 7

Saturday May 13

Sunday May 14

Monday May 15

Tuesday May 16

Wednesday May 17

Thursday May 18

Friday May 19

Saturday May 20 

Sunday May 21

Dance Special Awards

Smartphone
Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide
Desktop